Tags

, , , , , ,

Real Steel, another hit movie by Hugh Jackman, is probably my favorite movie of 2011. Directed by Shawn Levy, the movie is action-packed with good visual effect as well as the audio. The story is good, which seldom happens in action movies. I watched this months ago so I watched it again yesterday to make sure I get the details correct.

*spoiler alert!*

The movie is about Charlie (Jackman) who used to be a professional boxer, a good one. He used to train with a good trainer and he taught him well. Throughout the years, the use of robot for boxing or fighting in a small arena or I guess a boxing ring. Charlie has a son, who never got to live with him since he stays with his mother and the two weren’t together. They find this classic, old-style robot in a junkyard and his son brought it and they found out that it had a special ability, which is to copy the move of a person whom it is assigned to. It is quite a unique trait since most robots, the new ones, are manually controlled or voice-activated by a controller. Atom, the name of the robot, crawls slowly but surely up in the ladder of success, being the victor in his every match. In the end, Atom gets included in a big game for robots and he’s considered to be the underdog.

I won’t spoil it for you so I suggest you watch the movie. It’s really good, I swear. The acting done by Hugh Jackman is superb as usual, and also the other actors.  The movie has a bit of drama, the storyline is magnificently done. Each robot is a work of art, enhanced by the effects: both visual and audio. I say this movie is really good because after watching it months ago, me and my friends kept talking about it.

Here’s a fun fact: my blog, Meet Noisy Boy, is named after a robot in Real Steel, which is Noisy Boy! This movie will always be a part of my blog, I guess you can say it’s a little bit bias and all but the movie is just so good and it’s worth your money. Overall, a 9/10 is what I would rate it. By the way, that’s the highest rating I’ve given so far in my movie reviews. Watch Real Steel, you certainly won’t regret it. 😀